Gaze Interaction in the Post-WIMP World

Document type: Conference Presentations
Peer reviewed: Yes
Full text:
Author(s): Andreas Bulling, Raimund Dachselt, Andrew T. Duchowski, Robert J. Jacob, Sophie Stellmach, Veronica Sundstedt
Title: Gaze Interaction in the Post-WIMP World
Conference name: Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems, SIGCHI
Year: 2012
Publisher: ACM
City: Austin
Organization: Blekinge Institute of Technology
Department: School of Computing (Sektionen för datavetenskap och kommunikation)
School of Computing S-371 79 Karlskrona
+46 455 38 50 00
http://www.bth.se/com
Authors e-mail: andreas.bulling@acm.org, dachselt@acm.org, duchowski@acm.org, jacob@cs.tufts.edu, stellmach@acm.org, veronica.sundstedt@bth.se
Language: English
Abstract: With continuous progression away from desktop to post-WIMP applications, including multi-touch, gestural, or tangible interaction, there is high potential for eye gaze as a more natural human-computer interface in numerous contexts. Examples include attention-aware adaptations or the combination of gaze and hand gestures for interaction with distant displays.

This SIG meeting provides a discussion venue for researchers and practitioners interested in gaze interaction in the post-WIMP era. We wish to draw attention to this emerging field and eventually formulate fundamental research questions. We will discuss the potential of gaze interaction for diverse application
areas, interaction tasks, and multimodal user interface
combinations. Our aims are to promote this research field, foster a larger research community, and establish the basis for a workshop at CHI 2013.
Subject: Computer Science\General
Human Work Science\Human Computer Interaction
Keywords: Eye tracking, Gaze, Multimodal, Interaction, Post-WIMP
Note: http://delivery.acm.org/10.1145/2220000/2212428/p1221-bulling.pdf?ip=194.47.135.81&acc=ACTIVE%20SERVICE&CFID=105154796&CFTOKEN=31848425&__acm__=1337931205_b0b73bcf603635781e130fc40132e171
Edit