14th Swedish National Computer Networking Workshop

Karlskrona, May 31 – June 1, 2018.

Hosted by the CNS (Cloud, Networking and Security) group of DIDD at BTH!


Thursday, May 31, 2018

10:00 Registration and Coffee

10:30 Welcome

10:45 Session I

Chair: TBD

Non-Image Based Approaches for People Counting: Taxonomy, Requirements and Open Challenges
Sylvia T. Kouyoumdjieva (KTH Royal Institute of Technology); Peter Danielis (University of Rostock); Gunnar Karlsson (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)

Load balancing for a Virtual and Distributed MME using Weighted Round RobinGiang Van Nguyen, Karl-Johan Grinnemo, Javid Taheri, Anna Brunstrom (Karlstad University)

11:45 Lunch

13:30 Session II

Chair: TBD

Evaluation of the Impact of TCP BBR Startup on CUBIC Traffic
Habtegebreil Haile, Per Hurtig, Karl-Johan Grinnemo, Anna Brunstrom (Karlstad University); Eneko Atxutegi Narbona, Fidel Liberal (University of the Basque Country); Åke Arvidsson (Kristianstad University)

Selecting Operator in 3G/4G Networks for Time-Critical C-ITS ApplicationsHenrik Abrahamsson, Fehmi Ben Abdesslem, Bengt Ahlgren (RISE SICS); Mats Björkman (Mälardalen University); Anna Brunström (Karlstad University); Ian Marsh (RISE SICS)

14:15 Coffee and Poster Session

Information Retention for Disaster-Affected Networks using Content-Centric Networking
Adeel Mohammad Malik, Elias Andersson, Börje Ohlman (Ericsson Research)

Reactive Replica Selection Algorithm for Geo-Distributed Systems
Benjámin Martin Seregi, Tony Thomas, Kirill Bogdanov (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)

Environmental Control at the Edge
Elsa Rick, Felix Ragnarsson, Tobias Holmberg, Emil Fröjd, Victoria Catalan Rivas, Ambuj Varshney, Lorenzo Corneo, Christian Rohner, Thiemo Voigt, Per Gunningberg (Uppsala University)

Network Performance of an outdoor IEEE 802.15.4-based Air Quality Monitoring Testbed
Voravit Tanyingyong, Robert Olsson, Markus Hidell, Peter Sjödin (KTH Royal Institute of Technology); Bengt Ahlgren (RISE SICS)

Latency Evaluation of the Client-driven ICN Communication Model for the Internet of things
Johan Carlquist (unaffiliated); Bengt Ahlgren, Anders Lindgren (RISE SICS)

Avatar Conception for “Thing” Representation in Internet of Things
Ievgeniia Kuzminykh (Blekinge Institute of Technology)

15:45 Session 3

Chair: TBD

Towards Future Factories in the Cloud
Lorenzo Corneo, Per Gunningberg (Uppsala University)
Towards Privacy Requirements for Collaborative Development of AI Applications
Vida Ahmadi Mehri, Dragos Ilie, Kurt Tutschku (Blekinge Institute of Technology)

16:45 End of first day

17:15 Social Event: Boat Tour

19:30 Dinner

Friday, June 1, 2018

9:00 Keynote

Olov SchelénLuleå University of TechnologyBlockchains…
Abstract: …

10:00 Coffee break

10:30 Session IV

Chair: TBD

AI-based malicious network traffic control in VANETs
Nikita Lyamin (Halmstad University); Denis Kleyko (Lulea University of Technology); Quentin Delooz (University of Liege); Alexey Vinel (Halmstad University)

Modeling of V2V Communications for C-ITS Safety Applications: a CPS PerspectiveAlexey Vinel, Nikita Lyamin, Pavel Isachenkov (Halmstad University)

Lightweight Session-Key Establishment for the Internet of ThingsQinghua Wang (Kristianstad University)

12:00 Closing

12:35 Lunch

13:30 End



Olov Schelén
Associate Professor

Luleå University of Technology
Department of Computer Science, Electrical and Space Engineering
Research Area: Pervasive and Mobile Computing

Workshop Co-Chairs

Technical Program Committee

  • Ambuj Varshney, Uppsala University
  • Charalampos Orfanidis, Uppsala University
  • Dejene Boru Oljira, Karlstad University
  • Dimitar Minovski, Luleå University of Technology
  • Felipe Boeira, Linköpings Universitet
  • Henrik Abrahamsson, RISE SICS
  • Karan Mitra, Luleå University of Technology
  • Luca Beltramelli, Mid Sweden University
  • Nikita Lyamin, Halmstad University
  • Vida Ahmadi Mehri, Blekinge Institute of Technology
  • Voravit Tanyingyong, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Zeeshan Afzal, Karlstad University

SNCNW Steering Committee

  • Bengt Ahlgren, SICS
  • Anna Brunström, KaU
  • Börje Ohlman, Ericsson

Local Organisation

The Venue

  • SNCNW 2018 will take place at BTH’s Campus Gräsvik in Karlskrona
  • All lecture will take place in lecture H1640
  • The poster session will be held in the Lobby area before the lecture hall
  • Lunch and coffee will be served in Cafe + Bistro J next to lecture H1610




  • Early registration fee: 1500 SEK (excl VAT) – until May 18!
    Late registration fee: 1800 SEK (excl VAT)
  • The registration fee includes participation, printed proceedings, one lunches, the social event with dinner, and coffee and snacks.
  • Please register here (see on the left towards the bottom!)